BNP Paribas Tennis

BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global

Forward to a friendForward to a friend PrintPrint

The BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global is the WTA’s crown jewel event and takes place at the end of the year at the state-of-the-art SG$1.3 billion Singapore Sports Hub. The Finals sees tennis’ most exciting women’s stars – the Top 8 Singles players and Top 8 Doubles teams – come to Singapore to contest the season-ending tournament for US$7 million in prize money.

In its third year, the festival took place on Saturday, 22 October 2016, with the activation of the Fan Village which ran throughout the tournament. The first day of competition was Sunday, 23 October 2016, which was the first-ever Family Day, designed to make this a day out which all the family could enjoy.  The Finals of the Singles and Doubles competitions was held on Sunday, 30 October 2016.

After 54 Events and 4 Grand Slams held across 33 countries, only the world’s Top 8 make it to the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore. It is celebrated as the most prestigious, anticipated, and coveted tournament on the Women’s Tennis sporting calendar.

Hospitality Suite
Draw Ceremony
Draw Ceremony
Tennis Clinic


Official Name: BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global
About: The finale of the WTA calendar where the top eight singles players and doubles teams in the world battle for one of tennis’ most prestigious prize
Official Website:
Ticketing Website:
Social Media: LinkedIn (
Twitter (@WeAreTennis)
Youtube (
Defending Champions: Agnieszka Radwanska (Singles), Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza (Doubles)
Hashtag: #wtafinals, #supporttennis
Dates: 23 October – 30 October 2016
Venue: Singapore Indoor Stadium, Singapore Sports Hub
WTA Finals Ambassador: 18-time Grand Slam champion Chris Evert, 59-time Grand Slam winner Martina Navratilova, and 29-time WTA singles and 69-time doubles champion Arantxa Sánchez-Vicario


  • 2016 is the 46th staging of the WTA Finals (begun in 1972)
  • Singapore is first city in Asia-Pacific region to host the WTA Finals
  • 2014 marks first of a five-year stay in Singapore (2014-18)
  • Nine (9) different cities have hosted Finals: Boca Raton (1972-73), Doha (2008-10), Istanbul (2011-13), Los Angeles (1974-76, 2002-05), Madrid (2006-07), Munich (2001), New York City (1979-2000) and Oakland (1978)
  • 18 different winners in 42 stagings; of those 18 winners, 15 have been former world No.1’s, only exceptions were Hanika (1982), Sabatini (1988, 1994), Novotna (1997) and Kvitova (2011)
  • Players from 10 different nations have won: USA (17), GER (6), BEL (5), CZE (4), YUG (3), ARG (2), AUS (2), SUI (2), FRA (1), RUS (1)
  • Eight (8) players have advanced to the final on their Finals debut; only Serena Williams (2001), Maria Sharapova (2004) and Petra Kvitova (2011) won the title on their debut; Tracy Austin (1979 R-Up), Andrea Jaeger (1981 R-Up), Lindsay Davenport (1994 R-Up), Martina Hingis (1996 R-Up) and Simona Halep (2014 R-Up)

(click to enlarge)